1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

10-cpm dirty stove issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by sculptor, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    On the right side of the combustion blower there is insulation and aluminum tape. I'd say about an inch or two was pinched. There was a long piece of tape hanging. I bought some aluminum tape and re-taped it.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,130
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That would cut down on air flow.
  3. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    ...And now the pot is full again. Time to contact Mike
    It may be just a coincidence, but it always fills on bag #3. ;?
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

    YES!
  5. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I emailed Mike and didn't get a reply. Then again, my stove is out of warranty...I've been cleaning the burnpot everyday like the tech told me is required :)rolleyes:). It's been running fine for about 10-20 bags with no burn pot fills. It just filled today. I know every square inch of this stove as far as cleaning goes. I'm considering the fact that it's probably a warped burn pot.
  6. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,941
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    when did you email me? and what address did you send it to, i just looked at my "work" email on my office computer and i dont see anything for a CPM unit did you send to the "stoveguy" email? thats my home account and i havent to be honest looked at it for several days with prepping for the holiday and my daughter home from college. if you would please send the e mail to the "mholton" addy in my sig line include contact info so i can get in touch with you
  7. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I'm sorry Mike. I should have said IM. I have a bad habit of calling IM's emails and visa versa. I think? It was one of the contacts that was posted in this thread. In my message I posted a link to this thread to help out a little.
  8. Bob Sorjanen

    Bob Sorjanen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Loc:
    Edgecomb Maine
    Mike will get back to you very fast, he did for me
  9. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,941
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    im still not finding it, could you drop me an e mail with contact info or PM it to me here with "conversation" app on the hearth? dont post contact info in the thread though. im watching the forum as well as the mholton@englanderstoves.com e mail address
  10. ghandy131

    ghandy131 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Sculpter, change the bottom buttons to 1-4-3 (yes 3), take two asprin and let us know what happens in the morning. Worked for me.
  11. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    That stove should not need the AOT set at 3.

    There is an airflow issue somewhere. Imacman burned 59 bags in his CPM without opening the door or touching anything.

    Mine burns well with the Agitator off (0). Its all in the air to fuel ratio. To little air and/or to much fuel will back things up.

    Talk to Mike... Take his advice. The CPM is a stove that will burn the most pitiful pellet with ease!! When set up and burning properly
  12. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,979
    Loc:
    Northern CT
  13. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I should report Mike did call me. I missed it.
    I keep it on 1-4-1 or 3-4-1
  14. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Listen to Dex's advice here.....you do NOT need the AOT on 3. If the stove is set-up properly, it's clean, and the control board is in the correct mode, it should run fine. I am currently running for 2 weeks w/o having opened the door.....great heat, no pot buildup. Get in touch w/ Mike ASAP to diagnose your issue.
  15. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    Mike is already in touch with me and it'll get worked out soon. My stove is running now, so it's not an emergency. I cleaned the burnpot after it filled, and fired it right back up. It's kind of weird. Performance wise, it's running great, better than ever! I noticed a difference in heat with the Turmans and Greenway. A really nice flame with lot's of heat. I'm not unhappy with my stove in that respect. So, it's odd to be having a problem at the same time being happier than I've ever being with it. This was the first burnpot fill up since I posted earlier in November. Since then I've had many hot & happy days. It seems the burnpot will fill up if I don't keep it really clean. It does rock a little in the cradle if that is any indication of a warped burnpot.
  16. ghandy131

    ghandy131 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Just a quote from another thread.
    "3 seasons ago i used stove chow and pres to logs on the 1-3-1 or 1-4-1 settings with great success. this year i returned to stove chow and have been having the same issue with the large spongee clinkers. i reverted back to 1-2-3 and presto, perfect burn and hot."
    Don't know why but it works. What could possibly be the harm? Perhaps Mike can let us know. Still burning furious, hot and clean with the GS. 4.5 Days into this setting.
  17. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    Might be a silly question but, could a very windy day have any effect on the exhausting ability?
  18. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,130
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes if you are venting into the wind and haven't made provisions for doing so.
  19. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    It that what the swivel elbow is for? Is there any way of knowing what mph of wind it would take? This is my vent location. I need to go outside and look to see which way the exhaust is facing, and with 12mph wind? DSC_0695.JPG
  20. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,130
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Any wind into the vent without a corresponding amount directed into the air intake will degrade the burn.

    Horizontal vent terminations should be pointed down or face blocked or jet capped.
  21. mithesaint

    mithesaint Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Loc:
    NW Ohio

    Can't answer your specific questions, but the vent for my CPM is on the south side of my house, and the burn is definitely affected by the wind. It's very wide open and occasionally very windy here. Last night I was having issues with the burnpot wanting to fill up a little because I had a 30+ mph southwest wind. The wind shifted over night and all is well. I have problems with high winds (30+) but usually not anything below that.
  22. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Who posted that?? A Newb who didnt know any better?

    No need to speed up the auger. Unless burning corn. Period.

    Sorry, not trying to be dismissive with your idea. But with pellets, if its building up, your stove has an airflow, controller, or venting issue. Absolutely no need. Your getting less heat by stirring more often to burn them up.

    Many of of us here have this stove. Many of us can go.Loooong periods without worrying about pellet build up (I dont even think about it, in any of my stoves)

    A properly set-up and burning stove should be just that.
  23. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Yep, what he said.

    I had an Avalon Astoria before my 10-cpm. It was my very first stove (dealer showroom unit), and I'd never burned anything but cord wood before. That stove didn't have any stirrer, but I went for long periods w/o opening the door on that one either.

    BUT, it was spotlessly clean, had a good vent system, an OAK, I knew the motors were running at speed, were lubricated, and the pellets were at least decent.
    DexterDay likes this.
  24. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Operating as it should :) A PDVC or PDV may need daily pot tending. There are 2 stoves in the Englander line-up that i know shouldn't need daily anything. The 10-CPM and 10-CDV (no auto ignite/older model. But still a goodie) :)

    Clean, check EVL, check gaskets, reset board, etc... Listen to Mikes advice.
  25. imacman

    imacman Guest

    My guess is that the EP series shouldn't need daily "maintenance" either, if running properly. The PDVC and PVC need that daily pot scrape....I think it's listed as a daily item in the manual.
    DexterDay likes this.

Share This Page