1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

120 vac to auger motor 25PVD

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by cold-n-michigan, Feb 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cold-n-michigan

    cold-n-michigan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    Upper Pen. of Michigan
    We have 122 vac to the bottom auger motor even when the unit is entirely shut down. So now the second auger motor is burnt up. With the meter connected we go through the shut down cycle but the volts are still there. Unplug the unit from power. Plug back in and the 120v are at the motor. Wiring is good no shorts, guess the circuit card is bad?
    Pellet
    England stove 25PVD

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    What stove?
  3. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,307
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    At first glance it would seem that something is definitely wrong with the control board......if the board is off, there certainly should not be power going from it to the auger motor....at least in my limited experience.

    Did you PM mike (he works there)?
    Here is a link to his profile. Maybe he will answer here so we can all learn (for future benefit).
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/member/1590/
  4. cold-n-michigan

    cold-n-michigan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    Upper Pen. of Michigan
    I just sent him a message. Not sure I did it correctly though.
  5. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,307
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Either way - hit the PM link or the Email link......
  6. cntbill

    cntbill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Loc:
    Reading PA Area
  7. cold-n-michigan

    cold-n-michigan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    Upper Pen. of Michigan
    Thank you. I will check the wiring but am afraid to put the stove into diagnostic mode. We only have the one fuse and our local electric supplier is completely out! Would hate to talk to the company tech support and not be able to supply power.
  8. cold-n-michigan

    cold-n-michigan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    Upper Pen. of Michigan
    We have a circuit card and auger motor coming from Englander.
  9. cold-n-michigan

    cold-n-michigan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    Upper Pen. of Michigan
    We got a new circuit card and auger motor from Englander. They were very helpful and great getting the parts to us. We changed the card and put in the new auger motor. Everything seems to be going great. We put a .5 amp fuse in line with the auger motors. Hopefully if there is a problem down the road this will save the motor. I believe the circuit card was the problem from the beginning but rather safe then sorry. Thank you Englander for the great tech support.
  10. pegdot

    pegdot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    415
    Loc:
    Upstate, SC
    Glad you got it fixed! :) Now you are going to have to change your screen name.... ;-)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page