1920 house size 1000sqf

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

vixster

Nov 20, 2010
Rockland Co , ny
Greetings Everyone,
This is my first time positing here. I've spent some time searching and reading. But I haven't really found my scenario.
So here it goes.
I have an older home, that doesn't really seem to have any insulation. The interior walls and ceilings are plaster on wood lathe and the exterior is stucco. The house is aprox. 1000 sqf. The living room is connected to the dinning room by a arch style wall because they are supporting walls. The living room is aprox 30x10 and the dining room is the 15x10, with the kitchen nearby. Then there is a floor above with 3 rooms and a finish attic.
The two stoves I am considering is Hearthstone Craftsbury and the Hearthstone Shelburne. The Craftsbury is rated for 1300sf; and the Shelburne is rate up to 1800sqf Both stoves require the same size hearth. So the question, should I go for the larger stove in this smaller house and not burn a hot fire while using the living room? Then at night I can fill it up and run it for the night...
Also, does the enamel finish have more of an maintenance issue after it's been used over the years?
I look forward to your thoughts, and thanks for listening.

I think were I you, I'd go with the larger stove for these reasons:

1. You don't have to load the stove to the gills to get a hot fire for shoulder seasons, but when you need the extra capacity, you've got it.