1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
  1. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    I bought a 1984 Forester wood insert. I'm currently pulling the firebricks out and cleaning every inch of it before I install.

    The reason for this post is that I nearly know nothing about it beyond the manufacture date and maker. I've scrounged Google and came up empty handed. It would be handy to know the overburn limit, etc.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52,915
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
  3. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    Good to know. Where would I put my thermometer?

    Also, I'm doing a complete restore on this stove, way too much rust for comfort. Using a custom electrolysis tank I built for a previous project to knock off the rust and old paint. I can't use the tank for the main unit, as it's WAY too big. knock all the rust off, re-oil the blower, put some thermo-paste on the thermostat, put it all back together, and I should be good to go.

    One of my main concerns is that this thing doesn't have a glass door, how to I judge how the fire is burning?
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52,915
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Not sure where to place the thermometer without seeing the stove. Can you post a picture of the insert?
  5. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    Sorry it took so long to reply, been really busy. Ignore the brass border, it's coming off.[​IMG]
  6. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
  7. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    [​IMG]

    Done. Now.... where do I put the thermometer?
  8. valley ranch

    valley ranch Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    409
    Loc:
    Ranches in Sierra Nevada mts,Calif & Nevada
    Greetings, You haven't much choice, the doors or that, looks like 3" lip, where that little tray is sitting,are the only areas that will tell you what's going on in the fire box.

    Richard
  9. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    The thermometer I ordered recommended putting it on the top of the stove (the lip). So that confirms it. Now, I just need to learn how to use this thing correctly.
  10. valley ranch

    valley ranch Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    409
    Loc:
    Ranches in Sierra Nevada mts,Calif & Nevada
    Hi, I've had stoves all my life, didn't get the thermometer until a couple three years ago. I enjoy having them, we have one on our stoves at both places. Gives you an idea what's going on inside the stove, more so with your stove as you can't see the fire. Have a good one.

    Richard
  11. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    Odd, either I've got a broken thermometer or I'm putting this thing in all the wrong spots..... or maybe I just suck at building fires.

    I'm getting the stove hot enough to heat the house, but according to the thermometer, I'm barely out of the "Creosote" zone. Putting the thermometer up top doesn't seem to give me anywhere near what I'm expecting, I have a blower that circulates the air around the fire and I think it's cooling things off. On the door is a little better, but more or less same results.
  12. bholler

    bholler Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3,596
    Loc:
    central pa
    Does the top have an air channel under it most inserts do and if so that temp reading means nothing at all. Try the face
  13. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    Yeah it does, the front door definitely seems more accurate. It seems I have to load this thing full before the needle gets into the white (safe) area. I finally got it to climb halfway into the white area, then I cut the airflow to about half and went to bed.

    This morning, nearly all the wood is gone and the needle was barely registering a temp at all. Rinse. Repeat. This normal?
  14. bholler

    bholler Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3,596
    Loc:
    central pa
    do you have a liner hooked to it? i have a feeling you were over firing it pretty badly with those temps on the convective top
  15. Bigun

    Bigun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    Tennessee
    Yes, 1/4" insulated 6" liner.

Share This Page