1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

1st chainsaw (sort of) -What do you think?

Post in 'The Gear' started by BillLion, Sep 9, 2013.

1. BillLion

BillLion Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Hey all,

I've been burning wood in my fireplace insert for a few years, but just began gathering/splitting my own wood this year. I had a truckload of FREE sugar maple dropped of at my house on Friday that requires me to put down my axe/maul for a little while and use a chainsaw 1st to get it down to splittable lengths.

I was given a 14" Poulan, but returned it because it was near impossible to start. I just got this today:

Husqvarna 40.9cc 2-Cycle 16-in Gas Chain Saw
    [​IMG]

I know for many here the 16" would be too small, but it should be fine for my needs. Plus honestly I'm a little intimidated to use a chainsaw for the 1st time.

So questions:

1. Any thoughts/experience with this model?
    2. Have you found some models/brands easier/harder to start than others?
    3. Any safety advice (or any other advice) for a rookie?

Thanks -I can't wait to try it out after work!

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. StihlHead

StihlHead Guest

What model number is it?

Also, Poulan is owned and built by Husky.... same type of saws at the low end.
  3. BillLion

Loc:
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Thanks for that insight. I sure hope it starts better!

Here is the info I pulled from Lowes site: Item #: 197579 | Model #: 965167936
  4. Stihlmike

Stihlmike Member

Loc:
    Lilly pa