1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

2' chimney extension added -

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Shari, Nov 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shari

    Shari Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,272
    Loc:
    Wisconsin
    Okay all you fire loving gurus, tell me what to expect:

    Oslo installed 2/10 - burned it thru the end of last season. Started up this year, still purring right along. Ah, ha - recently realized the install was not correct and hounded the stove shop to come back and add 2' more height to my chimney. Previously I had 13' rigid SS (insulated) connecting to two 45's to the stove.

    The only change was adding the additional 2' to the top of the chimney flue.

    Question #1: What should I expect as far as any operational changes?

    Question #2: The 2' they added was SS single wall. Is that the correct material to use?

    Shari

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Backwoods Savage

    Backwoods Savage Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27,815
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Shari, single wall is fine to use as a test but not to leave there. I actually doubt that you will even notice a difference though but it so, it will be very slight.

    So why are you having this added? Are you not getting draft? Yet you burned in February, March and April with it along with this fall.
  3. Shari

    Shari Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,272
    Loc:
    Wisconsin
    I had it added because the furnace flue and stove flue were exactly the same height and only about 1 foot apart. I requested the additional height due to concerns about possible back drafting carbon monoxide into the furnace flue. I wasn't having any draft problems but the Jotul manual states a minimum 14' chimney - I had only 13' chimney plus two 45's.

    You said single wall should not be left there - then what should be used?

    (This is an interior masonry chimney, clay tile lined with 6" insulated SS.)

    Shari
  4. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    I just did the same thing today but mine was extended 18". I used single wall and I think as long as you burn dry wood there shouldn't be a problem. As you know my install came up a little short as well and looking at my burns and air settings I'm thinking an extra 18" won't hurt any. Yes, it would probably be better to be insulated up there but if you burn dry wood I don't think there will be a problem. Once the cold weather returns I'll give it a shot and see what happens. Since I have a small pitch roof I can go up there and check for build up frequently. I'll keep you advised on what I find.
  5. corey21

    corey21 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,241
    Loc:
    Soutwest VA
    I extended mine 4 feet triple wall.
  6. snowtime

    snowtime Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    northern BC
    Insulated will have less build up as it will not cool as quickly. If you have little creosote at end of year then I would go with it. You did say it was stainless. As far as operational I would guess that you will not notice a big change in fact the benefit will be when the weather is radical such as a very windy day. Should help on stopping back drafts and your pipe was very short. Good addition.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page