1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

2-Cycle Oil

Post in 'The Gear' started by Jacktheknife, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Jacktheknife

Jacktheknife Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Lakota, Iowa
    I'm fairly new to small engines and after doing some research I still feel the need to ask-- what types of 2-cycle oil are acceptable to use in a Stihl Ms250 I am using Poulan Weed Eater 2 Cycle Oil in my Poulan weedwhacker, which has a fuel stabilizer in it. Will this work? Is there one oil I can use in both?

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. Wildo

Wildo Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    jackmanistan, maine
    AMZOIL for all
    Pallet Pete, charly and MasterMech like this.
  3. MasterMech

MasterMech Guest

Your Poulan oil is likely a 40:1 mix which will work in the Stihl. I prefer (and Stihl recommends) a 50:1 mix to keep carbon deposits and smoke to a minimum.

Oil to run both? My experience is that Poulan should be fine with a quality 50:1 oil like Stihl HP Ultra (a very good synthetic oil). Other options are even leaner, Opti2 and Amsoil Saber Professional, both mix at 100:1 (80:1 if you get every last drop out of the package, ;) ). I am currently running the Saber Pro in all of my 2-cycle equipment with zero issues. (FWIW: My equipment is all Stihl spec'd at 50:1 except the 031 and my HF 2-cycle generator.) Going to do the crank seals on my 034 soon so I will pull the muffler and check for scoring/scuffing. That cylinder/piston was perfect prior to the switch in oils.