2-Cycle Oil

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacktheknife

Minister of Fire
Dec 4, 2012
Lakota, Iowa
I'm fairly new to small engines and after doing some research I still feel the need to ask-- what types of 2-cycle oil are acceptable to use in a Stihl Ms250 I am using Poulan Weed Eater 2 Cycle Oil in my Poulan weedwhacker, which has a fuel stabilizer in it. Will this work? Is there one oil I can use in both?

AMZOIL for all

Your Poulan oil is likely a 40:1 mix which will work in the Stihl. I prefer (and Stihl recommends) a 50:1 mix to keep carbon deposits and smoke to a minimum.

Oil to run both? My experience is that Poulan should be fine with a quality 50:1 oil like Stihl HP Ultra (a very good synthetic oil). Other options are even leaner, Opti2 and Amsoil Saber Professional, both mix at 100:1 (80:1 if you get every last drop out of the package, ;) ). I am currently running the Saber Pro in all of my 2-cycle equipment with zero issues. (FWIW: My equipment is all Stihl spec'd at 50:1 except the 031 and my HF 2-cycle generator.) Going to do the crank seals on my 034 soon so I will pull the muffler and check for scoring/scuffing. That cylinder/piston was perfect prior to the switch in oils.