25-pdv small room small house chilly

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mortalis

Nov 15, 2014
Southern Mass
So, this is my first year using the Easterner 25-pdv (I believe that is the model, the one in my pic). It is still using the factory settings. I move the ash from the burnpot daily into the side areas (dont know what they are called to either side of the burn pot) and I vacuum the ash every other day. We use Energex Premium pellets. The stove is setting on a brick hearth using outside air to burn and exhausting through the wall into an existing chimney that was used for a coal stove.

The house itself is an two story old farm house that is 1000 sq feet(footprint is roughly 22 x 25). Each story has 3 or 4 small rooms with the main room where the stove is located measuring 10' x 22'. The stairs going up stairs is near one end of this room. The house has a full footprint unfinished basement and we monitor the temp in the basement which averages 40 - 45 degrees. There is insulation in the rafters of the basement. We just this year had new vinyl insulated windows installed and we can tell the difference in the house with them in. The house insulation is unknown but I believe it is not too bad as the walls are not cold to the touch.