25 PVDC

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shaw520

Feeling the Heat
Oct 15, 2012
Modena
Greetings,.. Although I have been heating with wood for many yrs,.. this is my first yr with pellets. I have two stoves both were picked up used; a newer Avalon Avanti, and an older 25-PVDC. The Avalon is a great running, easy to use stove, but the 25- is a real work horse and seems to easily put out twice the heat.
I have three questions on the 25-PVDC;

1. the settings - I was having an issue with the stove going out when set below 3, so I call Englander Tech, I found that my settings were set at 1-1-9, tech support had me change that to 5-1-1 and so far seem better. Now from reading these pages for the past month I see there are different variations for different results. Please share your experiences with settings and how the effect fuel consumption vs efficiency. and some of your preferred settings.
2. The convection blower on the unit seem a tad loud, is this an inherited trait of this stove, or is there a way to quiet her down,
3. The door glass is cloudy beyond the point of seeing through it,..Englander wants $82 w shipping for a new one, Ive tried cleaning it thoughly put that hasnt helped much, is there a way to polish/ bring it back,.. or a supplier that can custom cut a piece.

Thank you all in advance! Shaw