2nd time Top down burn I'm a pro

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
First off i have an englander 2200 non cat stove. I've used the top down fire only two times, this being my second. I've read alot about it but only text exist so i took pics of the steps. 3 easy steps, My moister was around 20-25% on the big bottom peices. Layer single large peices across bottom and smaller twards top with about 6 one inch peices on top. Leave room for 4 peices of rolled news paper tied in a knot for very top. Light news papers on top and Crack stove door for 5 mins and then you can shut the door with full air open and shut it down to 1/4 air in 33 mins. that's it! both times no smoke, no face in fire, and i can light it and walk away for 2 hours without anything going out our opening the door!
Load and light paper up top
28f64cfc352a004779b37f6144ae0ddb.jpg
After 1 min shut the door
f60a5b011fed3db21c1fe1014dba1196.jpg
After 30 mins
f69a82a01573f23f5f97ca769cfdeeb9.jpg

Tap down that bottom hinge pin. ;lol

Top down is da bomb.

Kind of huge load for this time of year, no? ;)

Reactions: Cory S
Kind of huge load for this time of year, no? ;)
It ain't exactly warm, even down here. Got a full load going myself. Looks like the stove may be in the basement, too...

You must be right! He is probably outside the house enjoying the house stove instead of just the wood stove!