3 Point Winch

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bpirger

Minister of Fire
May 23, 2010
Ithaca NY Area
I'm thinking of buying a 3PT winch for my Zetor 5245. I've never used a winch before, but I've read they are the bees-knees for pulling wood out of the forest.

I have a few questions:

1. Is the primary safety issue the cable snapping? With the integral blade down, and the size of the Zetor, I assume it will be quite difficult to flip the tractor over.
2. Does the cable "free wheel" out, i.e. I pull it out into the woods and hook up?
3. Do folks use a "skidding cone" on the butt end of the log, or is it not necessary given the 5' height (or so) of the cable attachment on the winch?
4. I assume maintenance would be lubing the bearings/clutch and that's about it? The cable will last many years under normal "homeowner" use? And the clutch?
5. Are used winches a good idea, or does the clutch take quite a beating?
6. Finally, any particular brands to buy or avoid?

Thanks!

Without a doubt the bees-knees, but there are lots of safety issues with that much force and mass moving. I bet you could easily roll your tractor with one of the bigger winches and not winching straight. The winch can pull the tractor backwards unless or until the skid plate bites. The clutch can get stuck and not release when you want/need it to. If a tree gets stuck on a stump, it can stand right up in the air and then kick out. All good reasons to keep people away from the action.

The cable free wheels but is still heavy especially after you've hauled it out a bunch of times.