1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

45 MPH Winds And Headed To 10 Degrees When The Power Quit

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by BrotherBart, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,286
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Winds gusting to 45 MPH, 32 degrees presently rapidly headed down to 10 tonight and the lights went out 30 minutes ago. I guess I get to find out how the 30-NC does shoved back in that fireplace with no blower running. Worst case I have eight hours or so of reserve power for it on the deep cycle batteries with an inverter and the generator after that.

    The power company says 671 of us are down. I wonder what the non-wood burning set is doing tonight.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,434
    Loc:
    Delaware, Ohio
    They're headed to your place right now. I already called around and let them know you still had heat.

    -SF
  3. ControlFreak

    ControlFreak Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Loc:
    Holden, MA
    I hope you have an LCD monitor, or a laptop. Otherwise, shut off the silly computer and stay warm.
  4. EatenByLimestone

    EatenByLimestone Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,785
    Loc:
    Schenectady, NY
    I think it'll be pretty obvious what they were doing in 9 months!


    Matt
  5. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,286
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    The comm rack is on a Prestige 3,000 VA UPS and the computers on a Prestige 6,000 VA. The other batteries will handle the blower.
  6. woodburn

    woodburn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Loc:
    Long Island, New York
    This is what we live for!
  7. streeter69

    streeter69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Loc:
    Arizona
    Best of luck! You are getting what we had last week, winds of 65 mph and temps in the 20's and this is Arizona :eek:hh:

    This week is awesome, made it to 65 :coolsmile: I was out splitting more wood.
  8. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,253
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    50MPH gusts and icing conditions....took about 5 minutes for the roads to be impassable. Home sweet home. Power is still on, luckily.
  9. jpl1nh

    jpl1nh Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Newfields NH
    There is a certain smugness in having a wood stove in the winter when the power goes out, but all in all, it doesn't take long before it becomes really obvious that having no pwer is a PITA! Hope you get it back soon. Sounds like you're well prepared though.
  10. Gunner

    Gunner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    851
    Loc:
    Southern Ontario
    I think it will do just fine without a blower...throttle that SOB up to 700. :coolgrin:
  11. wahoowad

    wahoowad Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,405
    Loc:
    Virginia
    You still have wind 'Bart? Our power was off all day and the wind just ravaged the treetops. Finally broke out the generator to cool down the fridge and damn if the power didn't come back on 5 minutes after lugging all that crap out.
  12. streeter69

    streeter69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Loc:
    Arizona
    :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry, I am laughin so hard BUT, I had my mothers house wired so she could reset a few breakers and go in the barn (@200ft away) and start a generator to run the basics, pellet stove, fridge and a couple of lights. I caught alot a B/S for having my buddy do it, that was until she had a 9 days without grid power 2 years ago.
  13. BotetourtSteve

    BotetourtSteve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Western Virginia
    Up to 60 mph in SW VA, with at least 3 forest fires out of control (one in Roanoke County has shut down I-81 due to smoke) and over 40,000 without power. I'm still on the grid fortunately for now. We're supposed to get down to 17 tonight with 15-20 mph sustained. Got the dragon devouring oak and ash tonight - with a 30 ft chimney with 6" liner, lack of draft is never an issue round here - wind is insult to injury, even with damper fully closed! Picking up the newbie (Jotul F600) tomorrow; still need to track down a couple young limberbacks for the trip to the basement.
  14. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,286
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Fortunately it didn't last long. About the time the stove rolled up to 600 the lights came back on. Strength in numbers. If it had been just us that was out it would have been a day to get back on the juice.
  15. jpl1nh

    jpl1nh Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Newfields NH
    Well that's kind of a thread bustin event! Glad your back up again!
  16. jtb51b

    jtb51b Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Loc:
    Birmingham AL
    Glad they got you restored. If not, this would be the time to have one of those heat driven fans. I can't think of a better excuse to buy one so there... Fortunately I have a 5500 Honda genset and plenty of fuel for a 2 day outage before I have to break out the jeep, its locked on both ends with 33's so I'll get to a fuel stop with power eventually..

    Jason
  17. Henz

    Henz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,735
    Loc:
    Northville, NY
    I have a portable 3500 watt generator just for those occassions. Runs my blower and a few bulbs if I want.
  18. Henz

    Henz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,735
    Loc:
    Northville, NY
    thats why I have a 3500watt generator. runs the blower
  19. granpajohn

    granpajohn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    Loc:
    Central Maryland
    A blower doesn't require much power. I think mine is listed 80 watts. So, we keep an inverter (400w; $28) available for this. Park the truck in the front of the house and run a cable in the door. If you don't use anything else, you don't have to run the engine constantly. (And, think about it...if the engine were running so much, one could just turn on the heat and sit in the truck.) Of course, the freezer still thaws out, but that's a different ballgame.
  20. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,286
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    When we lost power for a week two years ago I emptied the freezer into coolers and buried them in a snow bank. Didn't lose a thing.
  21. pcampbell

    pcampbell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Loc:
    Vermont
    Our needs are pretty basic when it comes to power. Now we are looking into getting a new electrical box for the house and I thought maybe it would be a good time to throw in a manual transfer switch. Can you hook up a regular old cheapo generator this way?

    These things do not look too complicated. It looks actually like it could sit After the box and hook up to specific branch circuits (say furnace and fridge)

    http://www.electricgeneratorsdirect.com/catalog/images/EasyTranTF_400.jpg
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page