1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

55-TRPEP i Programable thermostat install

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by gandpk, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. gandpk

    gandpk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I have a 55-TRPEP i. I would like to install a programable thermostat. I tried installing a Lux thermostat and fireplace would only work in manual mode. Is there a switch or procedure to switch to thermostat mode?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,553
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The instructions for the stoves side of operating is on pages 31 and 32 of the manual. It can operate in one of two modes (note there is a caution about contacting technical support if the mode doesn't change following the attempt to change it)

    On the t-stat you connect to the Rh and W contacts, place the t-stat in heat mode. Set the temperature in all program slots and the swing setting and place the t-stat in run mode.

    You also have to remove that jumper between the t-stat connectors at the stove.
  3. gandpk

    gandpk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you, the manual I previously downloaded was from 2008 these instruction were not included, I just found instructions you are talking about in the updated manual from 2011. I will try this later today and post my results.
  4. gandpk

    gandpk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I will have to call customer service next week as I can not get it to switch between the two modes. If anyone knows the solution please chime in.
  5. imacman

    imacman Guest

    There is no switch.

    Make sure the jumper wire was removed from the control board stat connectors, connect the wires to the stove & stat as per Smokey's post above, then turn the stat up manually (to start with) to a temp 2-3 degrees higher than the room temp. You should hear a "click". If you do, then go and press the "on" button on the stove.

    You may have to press it more than once to get the stove to start up. Once the stove is turned on & operating normally (after regular start-up is done and room air blower is on), try manually turning the stat temp down to below the room temp. The stat should again "click", and after a few minutes, should go into shut down mode.

    If this works, the stat is now controlling the stove on/off cycles.
  6. gandpk

    gandpk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5

    Thank you all! Finally got it working! Finally got it to switch from "high / low mode" to "on off mode" and followed imacman's instructions and it now responds to thermostat. I will set thermostat to come on @ 4:am (fingers crossed)
    SmokeyTheBear and DexterDay like this.
  7. imacman

    imacman Guest

    If the stove shut itself off before bedtime, and the red light is still on next to the "on" button on the stove, then it will start up at 4am if you programmed the stat correctly.

    Keep us posted on the results.
  8. gandpk

    gandpk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    After shut down, red light goes off and "green on light" comes on and remains on. Worked fine this morning, turned on and heated house as planned!

    Thanks again
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.

Share This Page