6L Ford diesel yeah or nay?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SolarAndWood

Minister of Fire
Feb 3, 2008
Syracuse NY
I was reading through some of the recent threads on diesels and couldn't figure out the consensus on the 6L Ford. I came across a fair deal on a garage kept 2006 F250 Super Duty with 12K miles on it. Older couple used it to pull the pontoon boat around. So, yeah or nay on the 6L automatic?

Google Ford Deisel forums if you want to do a little reading. I think the Ford forum is the Diesel Stop. I do know a little about the Ford diesels but I am far from a mechanic. In a nutshell: the earlier model years with the 6.0 were more problematic. There are aluminum head bolts on that engine (crazy) that are a problem. They say that if you replace those aluminum with steel bolts and do an EGR delete, you'll be OK. I do know that when I was an ER nurse, the county replaced a fair amount of 6.0 liter Ford engines completely in the ambulances.

It may be worth the risk but be prepared for a big price tag with a repair. For me it would be the least desirable choice. My brother just bought a 2006 Duramax 4x4 with 86k for ~$24K. I'd be curious to know the price.

Low 20s, every option with crew cab and long bed. Perfect condition. Most important part for me is it is south of the salt line. Anything that old up here is well on its way to rotten.

They don't call it the "sick litre" for nothing.

Thanks for the link, interesting read. The article suggested that the earlier models had the problems?