A cord is not just a pile of wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dave7965

Jan 9, 2010
Rhode Island
I respond to an ad for 2 cords of wood. I tell the guy on the phone that I need to be assured that they are full cords. He said "don't worry I've been doing this for 30 years". "Great", I said still unconvinced. He said that he bulk loads a 10 ft dump truck that can hold up to 2 and a half true cords. I asked him what the bed measurement was (by this time he has probably realized he's dealing with a maniac) and he told me 10x7x4...280 cu ft. I said " Dude, even it was stacked tightly to the gills that's barely over 2 cords...at best you've got a cord and a third bulk loaded". CLICK.....conversation over. A CORD IS NOT JUST A PILE OF WOOD !
thank you and goodnight

I bet they really hate informed consumers.

One time when I sold some standing firewood two of the workers told me they could haul almost 5 face cords on their truck. A couple days later I was talking to the owner of the operation and he told me the truck held 6 face cords and that is how they sold it. At that time he was getting $55 per face cord. That was a handy way for the guy to make more money for sure but I surely could not do business that way.

You're in Rhode Island. You should be used to Tommy 'Three Fingers' Brown taking his cut.

The last time I had wood delivered, the guy had marks on the inside of his box/dump truck with wood volumes. There were marks for both loading stacked neatly and bulk loaded. Quite good I thought. Too bad half of the wood needed some additional seasoning.