a few questions from a newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scotte

Sep 12, 2010
Michigan
first off hi i have been reading this forum for a month or so but this is my first time posting

i'm looking to get a pellet stove to heat my 1400 sqft house this winter, it currently has and old woodstove on a brick hearth in the living room and the stove pipe goes up thru the ceiling (class A)

i'm not happy with the woodstove for several reasons (hate the labor and dirt involved and also having to go home every day to reload at lunch)

pellet stoves seem ideal as the mess is gone and it can run for 9-10 hours while i'm at work

my other source of heat is a 80% eff propane furnace, I currently have 300 gallons in the tank but as my propane company sent me a letter stating that i could either pay 49.99 to lock in at 2.49/gal or pay 2.59+/gal this winter heating my home with propane is :(

as i have said my house is 1400 sqft, single story michigan basement (not a living area) half the window are 2002-2003 vintage vinyl replacment and the other half i replaced this year (with the exception of 2 that are getting plastic treatment for the winter) decent insulation in the walls and ceiling

i got a couple quotes from my local harmon dealer $4200 for a p43 installed/$5200 for a p61a installed (not sure if this seems like par for the coarse or not)

he quoted the install running 4" "bio-vent" all the way up inside the 8" class-a to the top and then reflash the top and bottom