A friend has a damaged Jotul... long winded: damaged stove, need help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fishinpa

Oct 7, 2008
SE PA
Whelp, I'm new to wood heat, but I've got a mentor as my brother out in western PA has been heating his 3500sf home for about 15 years this way... and this website to lean on.

I did some research, mostly around here for quite a while before coming to the conclusion that I did not want the maintenance associated with either a cast iron or catalytic type stoves. I went with a Quad 4300. (OFF TOPIC: I'm wondering if I should have went with a Napoleon now and saved a few dollars)

I have a friend locally who has what I think is a catalytic Jotul. As I spend time floating this forum I'll come across lets say a faq about cast iron stoves needing to be dis-assembled every 2 to 3 years to be inspected and re-cemented at the seams, OR another one about inspecting and replacing the cat component. I'll forward the links over to him because I know he does NO maintenance on his equipment and then I never hear back from him on the subject. I'm just trying to get him interested in running efficiently and not burning down his house. We talk on the phone regularly and I'll bring up the subject of the link I sent and whether he read it or not and he's not. I'll stress I thought it was important and relevant to his stove situation and he just won't read it. I'm well aware that you can lead a horse to water.....

Here's that real question now that I've posted the scenario behind it: