A good deal on Firewood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Toast

Jun 1, 2008
Central NY
I read many posts where people are concerned about getting a "good deal" on firewood. I worry about this a little my self.

However, I believe that it is very important that people who cut split and deliver this stuff can stay in business. So, I keep buying firewood c/s/d. I have paid from $70 a face cord to $330 for a 2 cord truckload. As long as it stacks up and they do what they say, I don't blink about it.

Here is my thinking...I am not a logger... i am a chemistry teacher. I need these guys to stay in business if I am going to continue to heat with wood. I can cut and split some myself, but I am smart enough to know that I don't want to rely on only my prowess with a mall to keep my family from freezing to death.

So, I live in a rural area with lots of hardwood forests and I buy firewood.

Of course, it is better free or scrounged or what ever.....

Ideas?...

Jefffrey

I used to be good for one cord per year from a local guy, just to make sure I had enough. His loads always measured out, but this year I hooked up with a busy tree company. Man...more wood than I know what to do with. All I have to do is go pick it up as they leave it curbside and tell the resident that I will be out for it. I split by hand or borrow my buddy's 35 ton husky. I'm hoping by fall to be 2-3 years ahead...woot!

I'm a big proponent of buying local and from small places.