a splitting question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

geo91324

Feb 3, 2012
nw VA
Pardon if this has been asked before but I'm not sure how to search for the answer. I've been cutting and splitting wood for many years but I generally don't split anything less than 6" in diameter. I let all my wood cut from dead trees season for at least a year; newly felled trees at least 2 years. About 40% of my wood is oak/hickory/walnut/beech, another 40% or so is poplar, maybe 10% is cherry and maybe another 10% is cedar.
Question: is not splitting a 6" round causing it to not be seasoned enough? How small is small enough to not split?

Opinions vary...I split nothing under six inches. If it is oak, I season it for 3 years. Most other wood, two.

I split everything because I don't want the little stuff around any longer than it has to be.

My rule of thumb is if I can "palm" the wood on the end then I don't split it. Works for me... :)

6" is a pretty good sized round but if your stove can handle it okay, I see nothing wrong with it. Just give it extra drying time, especially the oaks.

For me it depends on what kind of wood it is. Oak and black locust I usually split 4-7" in half but soft maple or pine I might leave in rounds up to 5-6". Same thing with my splits. 8x8"+ blocks of black locust don't burn worth a crap for me but 8x8" blocks of soft maple burn great. You just have to experiment what works best for you.