Absolute Beginner here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Topperlove

Nov 23, 2008
Central Illinois
We just bought a house, an A-frame. It already has a brick fireplace with a Russo woodburning insert. This insert seems to have an Add-A-Cat combustor unit installed too. It's about medium size. The chimney has been cleaned for the season. Problem is I haven't a clue how to use it. I have a large conventional fireplace where I live now and it's simple, beautiful, and wasteful. I'm very excited about saving some energy in my new place because it's nearly 4,000 sq. ft. with two heating and cooling units for different floors. This fireplace s on the middle or main floor as is the kitchen, library, two baths, a livingroom and the master bedroom. There is seasoned firewood on the property cut up into small logs. There is a heavy black cord attached to the unit. I feel like a dunce. Where do I begin? There is a brass key type apparatus above the fireplace. Is that to open the flue when I start the fire? I don't want to burn my wonderful new place down, but all the previous owner left was the sales booklet and some diagrams for the Add-A-Cat. Help!!!!!!

Ooofff! You've asked a lot of questions that are hard to answer from a verbal description. I would suggest that you find someone locally who knows about wood heat and serve them a nice meal to come and help you get started.