1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Accentra Not shuting down in Room Temp Mode

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Lineman30, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    Was wondering if anyone has any ideas why my stove doesnt shut down while in room mode. The stove burns all day on idle w/ the convection blower off. I recently purchased a new room probe thinking maybe something was wrong with it. If I put my finger on the probe it will shut down. I realize thats my body temp doing it but i would love for it to shut down on nice days in the afternoon. Does anyones elses harman stove does this?..My probe is bout 5 foot away and 2.5 to 3 foot off of floor stapled to back of an end table.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    750
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Are you in room temp manual or auto? In manual, it won't shut down it will go to a maintenance burn until it calls for more heat. In auto, it will reach temp then shut down until it calls for heat again and restarts.
  3. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    It's in auto mode... That's all I run it in. I've never had it shut off in auto/ room temp mode unless I manipulate it by touching the probe.
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,008
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    When was the last time you cleaned the Exhaust Sensing Probe? That symptom can be caused by build up on the ESP, which doesn't allow it to read that the temperature in the exhaust stream is at or below 90::F. If the ESP doesn't sense that temp, it won't tell the unit to shut down...
  5. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    I cleaned my ESP probe at the end of the season last year. I've only burned 3 bags so far this year. Like i've stated it goes into idle mode w/ convection blower off and idles all day. Any other thoughts?
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,094
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Have you wiped down your room sensor?
  7. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    I have 2 room sensors and they both do the same thing. If i apply some heat it will shut down...it just wont shut down by itself. To me when the convection blower goes off that means it has meet the needs of the current temperature that you have set. As for the stove it runs great without any problems but this one.
  8. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Loc:
    NH
    depending on what version of the Control Board you have the convection blower will shut off at a temp of around 135ish, but the combustion blower will run until the ESP reads close to 90ish. If its failrly warm in your room, all that warm cast iron and whatnot can hold that temp close to 90 for a loooong time...assuming of course you aren't having any "real" issues with the ESP to begin with. Look in ash pan for smoldering pellets too...those guys smoldering away in the ash will keep the ash pan mighty warm, tricking the unit into thinking it should still be creeping along.
  9. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Loc:
    NH
    is your room sensor close to something cool? possibly at a temp really close to the shut off temp? the +/- on that is about 3 deg usually.
  10. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma

    Not having problems with it shutting down if turned off or manipulating the room sensor. But having to room sensor shutting down the stove all the way to off. All it does is idle without convection blower all day without ever shutting down all the way.
  11. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma

    Its bout 3 to 4 foot off of the floor 5-6 feet from the stove....attached behind a end table in the living room.
  12. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Loc:
    NH
    very strange, very strange indeed.
  13. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,008
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Your symptom sounds like what is right from my Harman Troubleshooting manual:

    AUTO & STOVE TEMP MODE –
    Setting the auto / manual switch to auto and the mode selector knob to stove temp will allow for initial automatic start up only. The stove will maintain a constant E.S.P. probe temperature based on the setting of the temp dial. The temperature of the room has no effect when running the stove with these settings. The stove will burn a constant amount of pellets to maintain the E.S.P. probe temperature. The stove will not shut down with this setting unless it runs out of pellets or is turned to off.

    Maybe you've got a bad circuit board, or maybe the "pot" for the temp setting (room/stove) is shot? Been awhile since I've been on the service side of things in the pellet world & I'll admit I'm just guessing...
  14. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Loc:
    NH
    it does indeed sound like the unit has been placed into "Aesthetic Mode", or at least thats what it would do if it was in that mode....Still, if it was, touching the room sensor should have no effect.
  15. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    Possiblity....but ive ran it in stove mode and it runs fine.....in room temp/auto mode it runs full bore until it reaches the desired temp i have set. Then it slows down and eventually...idles down to a point that is a very small fire and the convection blower is off. If i touch the sensor with my finger, then status light will go out and begin shutting down. The board as i can tell is orginal...(took out last year to set dip switches to feed more pellets at start up)..
  16. rickwai

    rickwai Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Loc:
    ohio
    Arrange the probe end so it is in open air , not touching anything. you can also install a house t-stat in the circuit w/ the room probe.
  17. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    Actually the probe is not touching anything. Its about 3-4 inches in the air....bout the length of the shink wrap on the end of the probe...i've considered the T Stat...probably trying a Sky tech
  18. timjk69

    timjk69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    My Advance runs forever on idle mode also. I tried using a thermostat but was concerned about the high stove temp as the distribution blower shuts down when the stat opens.
  19. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma

    Maybe, the older stoves just idle all day. I bought a skytech off of ebay so i'm going to try it out and see what i think. So your it just shuts off the convection blower off suddenly and not gradually slowing down like with the probe?
  20. timjk69

    timjk69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Yep. The convection blower and auger shut down suddenly.
    Let me know how the thermostat works out for you.
  21. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    I got off the phone with a local harman shop. Their help is extremely helpful even though I didnt buy the stove there. What he told me it could be the ESP probe. I asked him bout the board and he said since its getting satsified with the room probe he was thinking it could be the ESP. Since its the original (black model). Whats everyones thoughts?
    (Also, i hooked up the skytech thermo....its ok how it works but i like it when the stove continues to blow after the stove meets the temp you set on the board with the room sensor. It runs full bore and just shuts off and all the heat thats convecting off of the stoves just goes no where. Anyways thats my thought...I only paid $25 for the skytech 5301 off of ebay...so i'm not out on money....)
  22. timjk69

    timjk69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    So are you talking about whether the distribution blower shuts off when the stat opens?
    I have a feeling that's what all the Harmans do with a thermostat, being that's what mine
    does also.
  23. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma

    My distrubution blower shuts off after the stat is opened. Usually bout 1-2 mins as the fire goes down to idle. I'm just trying to figure out why my stove wont shut down on room temp auto. ESP ???....or Board???....just wondering what everyone thinks....
  24. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    I posted a message on the harman facebook page and got a responce from a tech about my situation. They said its possible its an ESP probe problem or room sensor. Since I just replaced a room sensor with a new one i'm going to purchase a ESP and see if it will fix it. I'll keep you all posted....
  25. jcataba

    jcataba Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Loc:
    Southern Tier NY
    I had a problem last year with my Harman that is very similar to yours. I first replaced the room sensor and the ESP but it did'nt help, and the stove still would'nt shut down. I got a hold of a great dealer (that did'nt sell me the stove) and they replaced the board. I purchased my stove in 2008 and was on the very last days of the warranty for electrical - Harman covered it! It worked and has been flawless ever since (knock on wood). The dealer told me they had other customers that had the same problem so they were familiar with the cure. Good Luck.

Share This Page