add boiler to hearthstone heritage?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

robbieiron

Dec 29, 2010
central california
Hi all newbie here but have been lurking awhile trying to learn. I am replacing an old frontier 1980 large wood stove with a hearthstone heritage house is aprox 1200sq ft and am at the same time adding radiant heating to the floor. The water tank for the radiant floor will be in the garage directly behind the stove in the living room. Seems to me the natural thing to do is add a boiler to the stove and pipe it to the tank on the other side of the wall maybe 18"-24" away, like commonly is done in europoe . I have been looking at Esse 700-27b stove for comparison. I know this stove is oversize for the sq ft of the house but want to have enough extra heat to add effective amounts of heat to the tank. The tank will also be heated with solar panels and may be as much as 600 gal. I guess my main question is does anyone have experience with how much heat the water will remove from the effective heating of the room? Also what are you thoughts on this- pro and con. My plan at this point is to remove the rear pipe cover and fabricate a stainless plate to replace it and have a stainless pipe manifold off it inside the stove, no mods to the stove other than swithing cover for a cover with piping on it.
Thank you all in advance
Rob

Try asking in the boiler room
Will