Adding an outlet to an existing circuit

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

smoke show

I want to add an outlet to an existing circuit which I've done before, just not a circuit like this one.

I'm no electrician so take it easy on me.

I was hoping to get what I needed from this switch, but according to my harbor freight tester theres no voltage in this box.

I could also take it from the light fixture if need be.

I believe this is a four way circuit. 3 switches controlling 6 light fixtures.

A link to a schematic describing this circuit would be great, so I can visualize whats happening.

I know its probly not recommended tapping into circuits, but this outlet is just gonna be for a led night light. ;-)

Attachments

• IMAG0095.jpg
    IMAG0095.jpg
    100.9 KB · Views: 358
  • IMAG0096.jpg
    IMAG0096.jpg
    108.2 KB · Views: 359
  • IMAG0098.jpg
    IMAG0098.jpg
    147.5 KB · Views: 340
Take a meter and see if you have 120v between the two, yellow, wire-nutted connections. If so, that is the live feed into this box.

That looks like a 4 way switch. If so, there are a couple others switching the same circuit from different locations. Is this the case? If so, you don't take the power off the switch.

There's probably a feed in that switch box, but there's no neutral. The constant feed comes down from the light box on the white wire, goes through the switches, and then returns to the light fixture on the black wire. Probably need to find another location.

BeGreen said: