Adding Gas Fireplace on Existing Interior Wall

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chicagomike

Jul 3, 2016
Chicago
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on here so I appreciate any help that can be provided.

I am looking at purchasing a new home. It does not currently have a fireplace in it but has a large living room with high ceilings so I would like to add a floor to ceiling stone gas fireplace (see attached picture). The wall I want to put it on is an interior wall. On the other wide of the wall are a bedroom and a finished basement. Directly below the fireplace though is an unfinished basement.

My question is how big of a project (time, $$) would it be to add a gas fireplace (preferably vented instead of vent free). I am assuming I would need to vent up through the roof since it is not on an exterior wall.

I am just trying to gauge what I am getting myself into.

Thanks

Mike

Attachments

• IMG_0773.jpg
    IMG_0773.jpg
    81.9 KB · Views: 937