1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

adding ignitor to whitfield

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by long, Aug 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Could anyone tell me if an ignitor can be added to a whitfield advantage II insert. I've had the stove ten years and when i bought it i may the mistake of not taking this option.i would now like to put this stove on a thermostat.
    Thank-you

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    To my knowlege, the ignitor kit is no longer avalible. You will do best by calling lots of old whitfield dealers and seeing if they happen to have one in back hiding out somwhere.
  3. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    You know that the thermostat is not a "on off" thermostat. its a modulator, it just turns the machine up and down....
  4. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i found one on a couple of sites but it was just an ignitor. i wasnt sure if i could just install it or there were other parts my stove would be missing since it didnt originally come w/ one.
    thanks for replying to me.
  5. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    the old ignitor is a hot rod that is inside a tube that air flows around.. can you post a link to the site that you found them in?
  6. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i wasnt aware of that. i thought it would actually turn it off and on.
  7. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
  8. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    yea, thats just the element, you need the housing for the element too. I dont know where you can find the housing.
  9. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    thank-you. i'll try the business i bought it from to see if they can order the whole assembly. do you think if i had the whole thing i could control on and off of the stove or just the auger feed rate and blower speed.
  10. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    that stove never turned off and on with a thermostat, just up and down. Lennox bought whitfield i think in '02. That part you are looking for they made obsolete. You have a fantastic stove, but unless you can find the auto ignitor aftermarket you will have to continue to light by hand. And with the thermostat option, you only light it once anyway....
  11. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    thank-you sir. i really appreciate your input.
  12. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    no problem, glad i could help.
  13. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    If your advantage Series Stove has the Tube the ignitor eliment screws into then you can upgrade to an ignitor.
    ALL THE ADVATAGE STOVE THAT ARE IGNITOR READY HAD THEM INSTALLED the quest unit was the model that you had to install the tube.
    A few things to look for.
    Do you have the ultra grate?
    http://www.hearthtools.com/parts/13_bar_Ultra-Grate.jpg
    if yes then
    Do you have a small 1/2 diamitor tube with a hole in the center behind the Ultra grate in the center?
    yes
    then you can buy the Full ignitor set
    it will have the ignitor
    Timer
    Wire Harnes and fuse.
    I dont stock the whole kit but I can get some.
  14. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Yes the Thermostat for the advatage stoves are Hi Low only NOT ON AND OFF.
    the older Rotor Know grey faced board with out a ultra grate does not work very well.

    You would have to have the New digital board. (it controls the combustion blower better)
    and a Ultra grate or ultra grate upgrade. Both avalable on my site.
  15. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    '

    He mentioned that it was 10 years old, i dont think that model advantage had the ultra grate. I should have asked, i forgot about that. Wait a second, the advanage plus's that i sold in powercoat colors, about 6 years ago, did not have the tube in them and they had a ultra grate...
  16. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i believe i do have the ultragrate. it has ten tubes at the bottom, not thirteen. in the back of the grate there is 3 holes and 1 hole directly below the 3. when i lift out the grate there is a tube about 1/2" to 3/4" around under and behind the grate.
  17. Shane

    Shane Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,830
    Loc:
    Casper Wyoming
    You should be able to get an igniter kit for that. I'll check & see if I have one. If I remember correctly it costs an arm & possibly a leg. It doesn't seem like you'd be gaining a whole lot of convenience by adding it. Like MSG said when you hook the thermostat up your not going to be lighting it that often.
  18. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    Is it about 6 inches long? If so, you have the half you cant get! :) thanks Rod!
  19. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    The 100 or so Advantage plus I sold and installed had the tube But not the ignitor installed.
    It was the quest that you had to install the tube. Take out the Burn pot and install it from the front.
  20. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    I found one kits in my stock part # 12040002
    Has the Ignitor
    Wire harnes Adaptor
    Timer Block

    you could order it from my website.
    I dont have it listed but you can just order the ignitor and Put in the order comments
    Please send me #1204002 Kit as per ROD $185.00


    Lennox shows the list price as $213.00
    You can have it for $185.00 for we stole the Tube out for a repair job.
  21. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
  22. long

    long New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    my burn pot is 5 and 5/16" wide.
  23. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    There are two ultra grates
    one is a 10 bar and the other is a 13 bar
    but that does not matter.
    as long as your stove has the HOLE or tube then you can have an ignitor.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page