Advice Needed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Berrley

Oct 20, 2011
Middle TN
Hello all. I am no expert when it comes to wood stoves, so I need some advice. I am remodeling a room in our house that has an existing free-standing Earth Stove wood burner. We do not have the money to upgrade the stove, so I want to make sure that the one we do have is installed properly. Attached are pictures of the current setup (I removed some of the pipe for the remodel). The current platform is laminate, so we clearly know that we are replacing that with something noncombustible. We would like to leave the walls unprotected if possible. According to our interpretation of the label, we have proper clearance. From the middle of the sides of the stove to the wall, we have 24"; from the back corners of the stove to the wall, we have 12"; and from the middle of the stove pipe to the corner of the room, we have 36". The pipe has a 45-degree elbow with no damper. We are considering installing a section of pipe with a damper. There is triple-wall pipe going through the ceiling. Are there any other considerations or recommendations regarding the pipe? Or any other thoughts jor tips? Thank you very much.

Attachments

• IMG_20121231_094905.jpg
    IMG_20121231_094905.jpg
    127.1 KB · Views: 200
  • IMG_20121231_094724.jpg
    IMG_20121231_094724.jpg
    242.7 KB · Views: 204