Advice on a good USED woodstove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WendyE

Oct 27, 2013
Michigan
Hello, Newbie here; never owned a woodstove. Small house, 1100 sq ft ranch. Looking to supplement heat here in Michigan. Cannot buy new at this time. Considering this used Woodstock Paladian. See Craigslist listing. It's a little rough, but not afraid of elbow grease needed. What are your thoughts? Thanks! I appreciate and value input here.
http://detroit.craigslist.org/okl/atq/4055832455.html

Well, it certainly looks like it was rode hard and put up wet!

BUT, it has good bones and all the parts (if any needed) would be available. It will do the job for you.....

I think it might be a cool project.

When you get there, though, look inside the stove up at the cast iron stuff near where the flue goes out and make sure it's not all orange and warped, etc.

Other than that, I think you can restore this.

Well, they have a thermometer on the stack, so I guess that's a good sign. That thermo is too far above the flue exit, however....