Advice on Buying Used Encore Defiant, First Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Catfish Hunter

Burning Hunk
Jun 14, 2016
Western Wisconsin
Hi Everyone, I'm looking at buying my first woodstove - it's an Encore Defiant comes with all the chimney pieces they had installed, stove pipe etc... It can be seen on Craigslist here:

http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/hnp/app/5629939882.html

He's asking $1500, looks like it's in good shape. I'm going to see it on Saturday and possibly bring it home. Any advice on what to look for and also is that a good deal?

(I've been cutting wood on my farm for about three years and am excited to get burning!!)
Thanks!

Last edited:
Just say "no".
Many many experienced owners' problems posted here and elsewhere online.
There are other better choices: Woodstock, Blaze King, PE, Jotul, etc....

Not the worst deal if the description is honest. The Encore Defiant is a cat stove and has a better track record than the downdraft models. This is a complex stove so over the long term it will be more costly to maintain. That said it is a good looker and enamel adds to its value. In addition to looking for cracks, leaks and improperly operating controls like the bypass, examine the refractory assembly for signs of degradation and the cat for deterioration. Not sure how much value the stove pipe adds for your installation. Maybe offer $1200?