Advice on designing hearth flush to floor

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Moorboy3

Jan 2, 2014
Boston ma
I was wondering if anyone can advise me on constructing a hearth that will be flush - or as near as possible - to our hardwood floor. I'm new to wood stoves, and my contractor and architect also have only limited experience in this area.

I've found this site invaluable! Thank you so much.

After many weeks of trawling the building code and multiple redesigns we finally have installed flue and stove pipe for a Jotul F3. Our engineer has said that we can remove the floor and subfloor as the floor joists have been reinforced. We will bridge the spaces between the joists with plywood so this will be flush with the top of the joists.

That leaves 1.5" to the surface of the hardwood floor. Within this thickness we need to get an R>1 and some kind of stone (slate? Basalt?) on top. I don't know how thick the stone has to be so it doesn't crack under the stove legs.

We were thinking of using this Hy-C stove board to give the R value as one layer. Does that sound suitable? Can stone or tile go directly on it or is it too soft?

Any thoughts or links/references gratefully received.

Here's a rough sketch...

image.jpg

You should be able to do this with a 1/2" layer of Micore (300 or SB), 1/2" cement board, latex modified thinset and then a 3/8" stone or tile top.