Again- How to keep your glass on your wood stove clean

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been reading these threads for years and have never heard anyone ever mention this for cleaning your black soot stained glass. This is the best ever and you all have it in your house. It literally melts the worst ever stained glass you can get. It’s Vinegar- yep use it full strength with a sponge and just watch how simple it works. I’ve been useing it for 30 years and when I was a kid at home my dad used it. I’ve blackened the glass so bad you couldn’t even see thru anywhere on the glass. Vinegar cleaned it like it was brand new.
After you get it cleaned off with Vinegar, just rinse it with water and your done.

, Dan

ps; keep it clean & moderator it's not off topic

Aside from the other one that I mentioned (sorry it spun out of control)- a razor blade is a common method for removing black buildup. A newspaper, water, and a little ash works as well. Just paper and water will normally remove the white haze from clean-burning. I have used a commercial material a while back that works well- I no longer get black soot, however, when burning dry wood.

I found using a sock inside out dipped in ash and using a small water spray bottle works great.

I will try vinegar the next time I wipe down the fire place doors upstairs. The Mansfield glass never seems to get dirty.