1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Air Cooled Chimney in Cold Climate?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by velvetfoot, Oct 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,817
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    The large fireplaces I just looked at, the Quad 7100 and FPX 36 and 44, require air cooled chimneys, I believe their own systems. How does that work in a cold climate? With that and the outside air, I can see a lot of coolness coming in when the unit isn't working. On the plus side, my Heatilator has the same system as the Quad, and Northstar.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SpeakEasy

    SpeakEasy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Western NY
    Well, it isn't an issue if you keep it burning :)

    -Speak
  3. Village Idiot

    Village Idiot Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    No. Va.
    The doors on the Quad 7100 are nice and tight and do not let cold air in. With the door open, I could feel a bit of cool air. I have only done one burn so far, but the draft quickly kicked in once I got all the levers and knobs in the correct positions.

    I couldn't understand why the fire was not going and the box was full of smoke. Then I flipped the OAK lever and the smoke went right up the chimney. (Note to self, open the OAK before lighting the fire.)
  4. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,817
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    But, there are separate air inlets for the air-cooled chimney?
  5. Trail_Time

    Trail_Time Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Loc:
    South Central, PA
    There is no air intrusion if you do a correct install, at least not in my case. A "P" trap is required on the cooling inlets. I put all my vents below the actual unit as cold air will not rise. The heat output of the FPX44 is amazing.
  6. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,817
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Thanks. If there's a possiblity to go with the existing Quad. sl300 air-cooled pipe, it might reduce some cost.
  7. Village Idiot

    Village Idiot Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    No. Va.
    The Quad 7100 requires a separate vent for the air cooled part of the chimney. I have a 4" dryer vent next to the 6" OAK vent on the side of my chase. When I was doing my first burn, I went and put my had on the vent and it was sucking a lot of air. Which I guess is what it is supposed to do to keep the chimney temperature at an appropriate level.

    I suggest that once you have selected a lineup of likely suspects that you want to consider, download the install manuals for each unit. Then you can really see what it required for the installs. I did "virtual installs" in my head as I read the manuals to see what issues I needed to be aware of.

    Once I selected the 7100 and had gotten to know the install needs, I knew the unit requirement better than the vendor/installer. During framing, I caught a couple of mistakes that would have been showstoppers if they had been missed.
  8. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,817
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Thanks.
  9. Trail_Time

    Trail_Time Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Loc:
    South Central, PA
    Great advice. I did the same and it helped make the right decision for my situation.
  10. Got Wood

    Got Wood Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Loc:
    Dutchess Cty, NY
    Yup I agree!
  11. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,817
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    I was just at the stove shop.
    Man, that FPX Elite 44 is HUGE!
  12. jonwright

    jonwright Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Loc:
    Little Rock, AR
    I did what village did with reading the books and doing a lot of thinking as to which unit to purchase. As with him I knew the stove better than the local retailers. When a local salesman standing in front of the 44 said "we don't sell any catalytic units" I knew I was in the wrong store. Nonetheless I was all up in the framers, masons, and did some of the install myself to ensure that it was right.

    I basically went with the unit as my brother in law has been working at a fireplace joint for nearly 20 years doing installs - albeit a 4 hr drive away. He knows what he's doing. Bought it from him. The Quadrafire dealer also didn't have installers (they gave me a list of folks to call - which didn't do much for me) and no other dealers around here really sell the Napoleon units.

    The install manuals aren't really that complicated - just read it with a cup of coffee. You'll be more informed that 99% of the "knowledgable sales people" that are supposed to know them.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page