air pollution question...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

voner

Jun 22, 2009
front range, Colorado

I live in the front Range of Colorado -- Air pollution is a huge deal here were overpopulated and we have these weather in versions in the winter that trap polluted air for days at a time..

So there is a local guy here who made this claim: to the question --Isn't it unsafe to burn treated wood?

here is his answer:

I have been burning OSB plywood in my wood burning stove for nine years, but it is unsafe to burn the “Greenwood” I.E.: pressure treated lumber.........

With all the glues in the OSB plywood, I suspect this is a pretty ignorant statement..

Anybody out there educated in this?

Thanks in advance

I'm not sure about OSB but burning the old style CCA (copper chromated arsenic) treated wood can cause problems. There are reports of those burning it suffering from arsenic poisoning. The ashes are hazardous also. I believe this type of treated wood is still sold for special uses like marine docks.

I'm not sure what the new style ACQ aqueous copper quaternary would release if you burned it. I suspect that burning OSB or other types of laminated wood glued together might release some nasty stuff also.

At one time there was concern about formeldahide off-gassing from plywood and maybe also OSB.
By now I imagine much greener pine and starch based glues are used as with much cardboard packaging.
But, there are so many types and manufacturers , you'd probably have to get a MSDS sheet for every type and brand to be sure.