Air supply

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

USMC80

Minister of Fire
Mar 27, 2013
New Jersey
Looking at purchasing a Pacific Energy Super insert and see that you can either install it using the air supply from the room or an outside air supply. Im new to this stuff and was wondering which way is the better way?

OAK (Outside Air Kit) is recommended when your house is super tight, mostly new construction unless the person really did some work to an old house, since you have an older house that probably has its share of air leaks you would not need an OAK.

OAK's are heated topics like cat vs non-cat around here with everyone's opinion being different.

Some will say that having an OAK will not have your insert pulling cold air out of those drafts, keeping your room warmer. http://www.chimneysweeponline.com/hooa.htm

When I built the hearth for my free-standing stove (pedestal) I added the OAK connection (under the pedestal and through the floor) just 'cause I knew it would be a pain to retrofit an OAK later (the hearth is layers of plywood, durock, thinset, tile, etc.). This connection currently just drops into the crawl space and is capped for now, until I get around to it. But since the stove has been running fine without it, it's not been a panic to finish it. I still have to connect it to the vent hood on the outside wall (already there) and I do plan to test drive the stove with the OAK in the next burning season.