1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Allnighter smoking out the house

Post in 'Classic Wood Stove Forums (prior to approx. 1993)' started by peteriveiraYahoo.com, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Hello All,

    Please bear with me as I am new to the forum. I have an Allnighter Jumbo Moe that I absolutely love except for the problem I am having. I guess I should tell you that it is an 8" outlet out of the back of the stove into a 90 straight up for about 3' into another 90 degree sweep into an 8" thimble which is connected to a 7x7 masonry/ terra cotta chimney. The problem is, no matter what I do smoke comes out of the door of the stove and back into the room. I even crack the door for 30 seconds to ensure a good draft but smoke still pours out of the door!

    Any suggestions? Thank you for any help.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,673
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Welcome. Is this a new occurrence or has it always been this way? When was the chimney and cap screen last cleaned?
  3. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I just bought the stove last winter and it has pretty much done it all the time. Also, I don't have a cap on the chimney ;em
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,673
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Is the stove in the basement? When was the chimney last cleaned?
  5. 930dreamer

    930dreamer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Loc:
    Amarillo, TX
    Sounds like their having a draft issue.
  6. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I haven't inspected it this year, but before I installed the stove last year, it was as clean as a whistle.
  7. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Sorry the stove is on the first floor. I have a full basement and the cleanout is sealed shut.

    I guess I should also say that I had a Hearthstone Heritage(6" outlet out the top) in its place before and I never had a draft problem
  8. 930dreamer

    930dreamer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Loc:
    Amarillo, TX
    Cool video on The All Nighter if you haven't seen it before.

    peteriveiraYahoo.com likes this.
  9. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,673
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Sounds like you are due for an inspection.

    Why did you switch out the Heritage?
  10. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I rely on the wood stove to heat my entire house(1900sqft) and the soapstone stove couldn't
  11. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,673
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I can see where the Heritage would have been working hard in very cold weather. This is not a soapstone issue unless the house is very leaky. It sounds like the Mansfield would have been a better fit.
  12. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    you are probably right but the heritage was in the house when I bought it.
  13. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Yeah that is cool thanks. Also I don't have that flap in the stove that hangs down to keep the smoke from rolling out!
  14. mellow

    mellow Resident Stove Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Loc:
    Salisbury, MD
    You have a horrible setup, no wonder your draft sucks. Rear vent -- 90---3 ft up -- 90 -- thimble -- unlined chimney. No wonder your having issues. You probably only had marginal draft with the last stove due to the top vent.

    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/articles/chimneys_an_unexact_science/ <--- you need to read this
    Heatsource likes this.
  15. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you for the helpful article. The last stove we had, had an unbelievable draft, sometimes scary.

    The smoke rolls out of the front of the stove, like it is somewhat of a design flaw. In the video above, they show some sort of flap that keeps the smoke from rolling out which I do not have in my stove as it it is a slighty different design. Has anyone ever had a similar situation?
  16. Heatsource

    Heatsource Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    not a design flaw in the stove, but in the chimney

    your draft isn't sufficient due to the elbows, and clay chimney.
  17. Snotrocket

    Snotrocket Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Loc:
    Maine
    I have and use the stove in the video. I have no idea what that flap is or if it's even factory.

    Are you using a damper on your chimney pipe?
  18. Jason Hall

    Jason Hall Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Mid Michigan
    I use the same stove and have for A long time. I have 8" pipe all the way up, and don't have a problem. IMO the 2- 90* elbows along with you reducing the size down to 7", along with a Cold masonry chimney makes your entire combination not happy.. Before you were using 6" into 7".. IMO going from 6" out into 7" was creating low pressure in the 7" pipe causing the draft to expand kind of like a 2 stroke exhaust pipe.. That low pressure / expansion was helping pull the smoke out.. Your now going from 8" down to 7", causing back pressure into the 7" pipe.. This is My Opinion, and I could be completely wrong, but that's what it seems like would happen??
  19. oldspark

    oldspark Guest

    I would check your system out from head to toe, ran an old stove for 30 years (bought new by me) with an 8 inch flue reduced to a 7 and 1/2 round clay liner with no problems what so ever. I had 2 90's also plus it was only 18 feet, it may be you just have a combination that will not work.
  20. mellow

    mellow Resident Stove Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Loc:
    Salisbury, MD
    Rear vent in my experience require more draft than top vent to operate correctly.
  21. oldspark

    oldspark Guest

    Very well could be but mine was a rear vent also, thats why I had 2 90's.
    I wonder what the overall height is of his chimney.
  22. peteriveiraYahoo.com

    peteriveiraYahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Hi guys, thanks for all of the helpful responses. The overall height of my chimney from the thimble to top is about 12'. I have a damper on the pipe but I have never used it. Also the clay liner is 7" square making the area of the liner and the area of the chimney pipe about the same using basic area formulas.
  23. mellow

    mellow Resident Stove Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Loc:
    Salisbury, MD
    You need to ditch the rear vent with a chimney that short. Period.

    Either that or extend the chimney up higher to at least 15 ft, measured from the bottom of the stove.

Share This Page