1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Am I burning too good a pellet?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by olddawgsrule, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Still a newbie and still learning from you folks.

    The temps are coming up 'round here, hitting 20's over night.
    I am used to the wood acting a bit sluggish when temps rise and expected the pellet stove to do the same.

    But only able to run on low....
    Been running on medium (only 3 settings here) so far and great heat, good looking flame, gray (not black glass) and been keeping up with cleaning it with every load.

    AndyH and I are the only ones I know of here with this stove (Forester 5824), but the question I believe is basic to all (well I think..).

    My stove has a heat limiter on it (as I assume all do) and is set to 200 degrees.
    First question is; Is this considered low?

    Second; Do you all find you're burning at lower settings this time of year?

    Third; Am I just burning too good a pellet for this this stove???

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    If its lower than 30 but higher than 10, all day, yes I run on the lowest setting 24/7.When outside temp gets above 40, we run in Thermo mode. Set at 70. Today the outside temp was a little over 45, and the stove never kicked on all day. Got home temp in the house was 69. I run a 3 degree swing in warmer weather. Left the house at 5:30a.m., house at 76, came home at 4:30p.m, house at 69. Takes less time for the house to recover in warmer weather. When I can shut it down, I will. Just to save me some Pellets. Trying to HOARD me as many as possible for next year.
  3. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Oops. Forgot to ask what pellet you are burning? And Yes, the warmer it gets , the less and lower you will burn. Update your Profile Signature with your stove make and model, and the pellets you are burning. May have more people with a stove like yours. You will never know.
  4. ChrisWNY

    ChrisWNY Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Loc:
    Western NY
    I can't run above Level 2 (out of 5) on days when the temp is above 32°F, otherwise my entire first floor soars into the upper 70s (second floor hits 70°F which is too warm for sleeping IMO), uncomfortably hot.
  5. nosaudioil

    nosaudioil Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Loc:
    coastal ME
    Is this a trick question?
  6. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    I actually have a new high temp sensor on the way from US stove right now. Mine kept shutting off after running for about 2 minutes (way before it got to 200 degrees) I cut the wire because if you just disconnect it then it will not run. It runs fine with the sensor wire cut but will shut off after about an hour. I think the sensor somehow makes continuity once it reaches 200 degrees and that is what sets it off. From what I understand it should not shut your stove off when it gets to 200 degrees it should just send a signal to your auger to stop feeding pellets until it drops in temp.

    When my stove is actually working correctly you should be able to run it all day long on high even if it's 70 degrees outside. It may sweat you out of the house but the stove should stay running.

    first thing i'd try is moving the sensor back just a bit so it's farther away from the heat plate.
  7. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Didn't think so...

    But I'm seeing you all burn lower, but mostly by choice.
    I just seem to be forced into this...
  8. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    I may just request the same.
    I just checked again at the sensor and I'll be dammed if I can see a reading....
    It's been running all day on low and I should be able to read something on it...
    I'm searching for a anything to show the temp on this sensor, red mark (like the dial turns), needle (that may move around it)...
    I can usually figure these things out, but this is killing me dude....
  9. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    The magnetic thermo on the side of my stove gets over 600 on Medium, Never really burn on High. If your stove if shutting itself off, then there is prob a problem somewhere. IMHO
  10. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Upstate NY

    I'm pretty sure you're checking the vacuum pressure switch... if you're looking at the stove from the front you're talking about the white thing with the dial on the right side correct? if so that is the pressure switch and you shouldn't have to do anything with that. The High temp sensor is on the other side. it's a little silver bullet thing with two black wires coming into it. I'm pretty sure once it reaches 200 degrees it trips and sends a signal to the auger to either slow or at least slow down until the temp of the stove drops.
  11. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Are these "sensors" your talking about, the Snap Disc's? If so, you will not get a temp reading from them. When they hit here predetemined temp, they open, and shut said circiut down. Can u take a pic of this "sensor" and post it. Would help out a lot.
  12. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Funny you should ask that..

    Attached Files:

  13. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Sorry didn't complete the post..

    I thought of sending a picture to show what I'm seeing here.
    There's a nice dial and what seems to be an arrow, but this is taken after running all day on low and it's 20 degrees???

    I'm really missing something here...
  14. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    This is how I check different pellets and where it's placed.
    Okay, so not entirely scientific, but it works and shows me a difference....
    This is also the temp it's been running on all day

    Attached Files:

  15. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    the white thing is the pressure switch and the dial does not move on it's own and you shouldn't ever have to adjust it.




    this is the hi temp sensor

    http://www.discountstoveparts.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=41_283&product_id=315


    Like i've been saying, when that trips it should not shut your stove off but that does not mean it's not detective. I'd call US Stoves and have them send you another sensor..... it's free and it only takes a minute to install so you have nothing to lose.
  16. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Your way of monitoring your temps, is one of the ways I check my pellet heat also. I have 2 magnetic thermo's. One is on the side of the stove (around 410 on Low and 600 on Medium). The other is on the front of the stove, but not directly in the middle. (Around 250-270 on its lowwest setting) Its a lil off to the side, but that because there is Zero airflow in the center. The 3rd and latest is a Digital probe meat thermomitor. It is much more accurate with the air flow temps. My Quadrafire only has 3 Heat settings. I Dont burn on High, and I dont plan to.
    To get back on subject, it is a pressure switch. Or your vacuum switch as stated above by Andy H. Just Google the name LEFOO. Its looks like the LF32. That is not the problem. If you lost vacuum, your stove would shut down after 1 minute. Your High Temp could still be tripping, but what you are looking at is not it.
    Here is the link, if not highlighted, then copy and paste in browser. (Vacuum LF32-02 20~200 pa) http://www.lefoo.com/prolist.asp?ProdId=0024
  17. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,382
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    The dial is where you set the pressure differential for the switch. Leave it where it is.
  18. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Thanks guys!
    Knew I had something wrong here.

    I'm heading to the stove next and find this thing.
    I'm interested to see if it's just reading temp in the housing of the stove or mounted to the firebox.
    Have to believe it's in the housing since the firebox should be well over 200 degrees.

    Andy, I will call them.
    You're right if it's free and simple to replace!
    Why not!

    To all else; If what I'm learning is correct, the discount stove I purchased produces half the heat your stoves do.
    Again, if how I'm reading my heat is close to what you all are doing, then I could be as low as a 1/3...
  19. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    So this is the temp sensor.

    Attached Files:

  20. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Pulled the temp sensor, checked it, looked good and put it back.
    Did a major cleaning, though didn't seem to need it.
    Including pulling the vent pipe and dusting it (my wife was proud).

    Starter her back up (the stove that is), got a good start and set to low to run for a bit.
    After an hour, set to medium and let her go.
    Again after an hour went for it and set it to high.

    5 minutes later, beeping and shut down.

    Did a re-start, after it cooled off, set to low and ran it through the load.

    Believe it's either the sensor is re-acting too quickly or the CPU is not letting it ride.

    Again, if I'm getting 200 plus degrees out the blower on medium, then the sensor must be reading at least that.
    I'm putting the magnetic pipe temp gauge (I have for the wood stove) next to the sensor to see if I'm right.
    If so.... then I could be burning too good a pellet for this stove and never be able to put it on high....
  21. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    901
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    You think that magnetic temp gauge is accurate enough?? Can you get an infrared temp gauge?? Hard to believe that those pellets burn too hot, but hey, what do I know....
  22. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    No I don't, but gives me something to check with.

    Stove just went out a 1/2 hour ago and the mag gauge read 125 degrees...
    My oven temp gauge at the blower exhaust read 175 degrees...

    I have a temp probe for my multi-meter and trying to figure it out now for a better test.
    Have to see what these infrared probes are all about.
    Cheap enough, I'll have one tomorrow.

    My assumption is this sensor is just for overheat.
    I've pulled it off the mount and see no difference in flame or rate of feed... well, so far...
    I'm guessing that the feed rate is timing, not heat readings.

    I did pull it off after it was up and running, so still trying to figure this out.
  23. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Yup, that is the correct sensor. Did you try keeping it plugged in but removing it way away from everything so there is no way it can reach 200 degrees? I'd just remove the side cover and have that sensor about 12" outside of the stove so it's at room temp. If you can run it on high like that it will tell you that the sensor needs to be replaced.


    And as far as other stoves putting out twice as much head as the forester I can't imagine that is possible, when it's running on high you should barely be able to stand in front of the thing. any other pellet stove i've seen running seems like it puts out about the same amount of heat as this one.
  24. olddawgsrule

    olddawgsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Actually tried that yesterday, on high, and it shut down after 5 minutes.
    It went an hour and a half on medium.
    Ran straight through on low.
  25. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,350
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    What lights are on and or flashing when it shuts down?

Share This Page