am I expecting to much?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

meridian

Dec 10, 2007
michigan
Hello, Newbie here. We have just purchased our first insert. We were very unsure about the size and what we really wanted out of an insert so we went with a lower budget price and size.. Regency I1200. I have been using it for about two weeks and Im less then impressed with the heat out put. the wood Im using (from what IM told seems very dry no hiss) is seasoned. The fires seem to burn well and are very hot when the door is opened. I guess the best way to describe what im not happy about is the heat output. temp reaches about 70 in a avg living room. And that is with a fire all day. I thought I might be able to warm the room up enough to let the heat wander during the evenings and nights but im not trying to heat the house. Am I expecting to much or am I doing something wrong? stats

house is tri level. 2200 sq ft
chimney liner 25ft
55000 btu

Is there a fan on the unit? Inserts don't heat worth a darn without a blower. If it does, and your still not getting enough heat, then I'd put more wood in and really load it up. I'd think any woodstove could keep more than 1 average size room at 70°.

Is there a block off plate installed?

Floor plan please
Vaulted/cathedral ceilings?
House age (insulation/windows)

2200 feet is a pretty big house for an insert unless it is in a perfect spot, methinks you need a wood stove and a pretty big one at that.