An overall better firewood experience.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JA600L

Minister of Fire
Nov 30, 2013
Lancaster Pennsylvania
Hi guys,
I've been burning wood for about 5 years. I got myself on the 3 year plan with some ash, locust, and oak cut to medium/large size.
I find that I like to keep the premium woods at bay for extremely cold weeks. They are a little harder to come by in this area. So that leads me to scrounge for lesser woods on a yearly basis. This usually ends up being pine, mulberry, cherry, silver maple, box elder, etc..
So I'm a firm believer in the 3 year plan, but I am finding that it is much easier just to split wood smaller. It seems to greatly reduce drying time, easier starts, and a more complete burn for my cat stove.
So my new system is to stock pile the medium/large dense hardwoods in the 3 year pile. Then scrounge for 1 year woods that will dry when split small.
Maybe I can fill the stove with small splits and one or two mediums to kind of even it out. What do you guys think? Sound like a plan? Fyi my idea of a small split is not super small like kindling, but large enough to provide burn time.

Yeah I think I know what you mean / trying to do - what worked for me was getting 6 years ahead in 2 years, lots of work but what else is there to do in the winter? So this winter all I need to process is about 2 or 3 cord.....and with all the standing dead / dying ash around me I just may take this winter off!