another newbe another zero clearance question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mosquito

Aug 5, 2015
ohio
Hello everyone i have been surfing around here for a couple of years now but after last year outrageous electric bills im finally ready. I built my house 11 years ago and put a pre fab in . I have never burned wood because i was scared to burn anything in that tin can. So it should be in good shape. I have been to a few fireplace dealers and they are set to come out and look and give me some prices on a regular wood burning insert. So is it safe to where me and my family can sleep soundly at night. The model is a white mountain vfsr-24-3. I tried to get a hold of white mountain but there is no contact number just an email. I live in the middle of the woods so firewood is not a problem. I still plan on leaving the thermostat set at 60 but i plan on burning the majority of the time. Thank you

Last edited:
I think you right , would it be labeled on the fireplace

Attachments

• 20150731_064054.jpg
    20150731_064054.jpg
    371.3 KB · Views: 164
In general no you cant put an insert in a zeroclearance unit unless both the manufacturer of the zc unit and the insert agree that it is ok. And there are very few zc manufacturers that are ok with it

Reactions: Tech Guru
Check for a label; could be in the front at the bottom. Also take a look what kind of pipe you have and what diameter. Since you say you built the house: Any way you have a manual or maybe the installer would still know?