Another newbie here, with some questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Valtar

Hearth Supporter
Jan 10, 2009
Mexico
Hello Guys,

This is my first post, I've been lurking around for some months though. I have a 3100 sf. house made of brick and mortar, it is insulated on the outside of the walls with 1" polyisocyanurate panels, the windows are double pane low-e aluminum ones, the roof is made of concrete with EPS panels embedded to alleviate the weight, it is not insulated (working on it). NG is very expensive here and therefore my house is not warm during the winter, the house has two NG furnaces (one for each floor). After doing some research and watching this forum daily I found that Lowes had the wood stoves on clearence and was able to get a Summers Heat 50-SNC13 for $400.
To install it I need aprox 15 ft of stove pipe inside the house, the manual of the stove says not the exceed 10 ft with single wall flue pipe, double wall pipe is ver expensive and I will try not to go this route (I know on the outside I have to use type A pipe). What could happen if I use single wall stove pipe? The type they sell at Lowes for ~9.00 each piece. Will I have condensation inside the flue? I live south of the border with El Paso Tx, a very dry climate.

Thanks for your input...Valentin

Welcome to the forums! I really don't think you'll have a problem running single-wall up to the support box/transition to Class A. Rick

Welcome Valentin,

The exhaust gases need to stay hot to create a good draft. A long run of single wall will allow the gases to cool and slow the draft.