Another newbie question: Quad 3100i or Country C260

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tim46r

Jul 6, 2008
Eastern NY
Hi, I'm new to the world of wood stove inserts. I have a 1-1/2 story cape 1,700 sq-ft house in the Albany, NY area. The ceilings are about 7 ft high. The 1st floor is fairly open. The living and dining rooms are basically one room, 25 X 30 ft with the stairway to the upstairs in the center of the room. Air can flow around the stairway easily from the living room to the dining area. The existing fireplace is at the south end of the house, in the living room. The kitchen and mud room are at the other end of the house. You can stand in the mud room (north end of house) and easily see all the way to the south wall. Lot of spaces for air to circulate. The two 25 X 25 ft bedrooms and full bath are upstairs. The fireplace is masonary and contains a "heatalator" insert that has glass doors. The internal dimensions are: Width 41" in front 31" in back (trapezoidal); 29" high; and 24" deep. My plan is to use my current oil burner (hot water system) to maintain the house at 60 degrees and use the insert for temps upto 70 degrees.
I went looking for stoves on Thursday and the two stove inserts that were recommended by the sales persons (different stores) were the Country Legacy C260 and the Quadrafire 3100i. The heating area size for the stove are about equal 1,300-2,000 sq-ft. Installed with blowers, chimney liner, and tax prices were $4,155 (3100i) and $4,860 (C260), a $700 difference.