Another noob question Regency F2400

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cire3

Jan 11, 2010
MI
www.cire3pc.com
I have a Regency F2400 and was hopeing someone has one to compare. When I close the air off should it kill the fire ?

I can close mine all the way and it will still burn. Nothing raging but still burns with fire. Just curious if I have an air leak or this is normal operation, I assumed that the fire could dam near be killed closing the air control all the way. I'm still learning how my new critter works and adjusting. I just don't want to adjust to a leak :)

I also have the 8" pipe problem so I know I'll have even more draft when I get the right pipe on it. Went to the stove store today and it was closed... Called the number and it said January hours would be spuratic ? What the heck is that ? Who takes a vacation on one of Michigan's coldest months. I mean they do fire places and stoves !!! LOL

Also would like to take this time to say THANK YOU to all the posting members. I have read so much info on this site "never though I would get this into wood stoves....lol" You all provide a great source of info and help.

P.S.

Anyone have any 6" pipe for a poor man ??? I posted an ad in the wanted section :) That stuff is crazy expensive, thought the stove would cost more !

By the way , it's enough to keep the secondary burn going.

Normal operation. You can't completely shut off the air in a modern EPA stove. If you are getting good secondary burn with the 8" pipe when the air control is closed, then there may not be an issue there either.