1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Another question on two Flue's

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by CTburning, Sep 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CTburning

    CTburning New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Loc:
    Western CT
    I have a fireplace upstairs and a wood stove downstairs. The upstairs fireplace has an inside chimney that is probably just triple wall straight up. The downstairs has an outside triple wall chimney that runs almost parallel to the inside chimney. I never use the upstairs fireplace, not even for ambiance. The old stove downstairs would spill a little smoke into the room if I didn't have a hot fire going. I learned to minimize it but never quite eliminate the problem. My question is, could the 2nd chimney be causing a weaker draft with my downstairs stove. I always have the fireplace closed but it is by no means air tight. If you do believe that it could be causing a problem, how much higher should the downstairs chimney be?

    I"ll be looking into the product, extend a flue. Nothing is really in the budget right now but if it helps. thanks in advance

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    If they are right next to each other the flue that isn't being used will pull cold air and smoke down with it. I had the same problem and extended my primary flue for my stove in basement and installed a chimney top damper for my fireplace upstairs.
  3. CTburning

    CTburning New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Loc:
    Western CT
    Yes, I can plug the unused fireplace as I don't ever plan on using it. If money starts flowing again like it did a couple of years ago I might buy a decent insert and just use it once in awhile. I don't see that happening anytime soon! I'm really hoping the Fireview is enough to heat the whole house like the old stove did. Back to the task at hand. I'm really wondering if the unused chimney is hurting the draft of my downstairs stove. Thanks again!
  4. Bootlegger

    Bootlegger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Loc:
    Where the Bluegrass meets Hills
    Same problem I have, got lots of good advice, mostly to raise the flue you use the most over the one not used much.

    I have the Fiskars splitting axe too, what a great tool!
  5. Wet1

    Wet1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,528
    Loc:
    USA
    Can you install an OAK on the lower unit?
  6. Bootlegger

    Bootlegger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Loc:
    Where the Bluegrass meets Hills
    Does OAK=outside air konnection?
  7. Bootlegger

    Bootlegger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Loc:
    Where the Bluegrass meets Hills
    Ah, "kit", that makes sense. And these are not powered by a fan?
  8. Bootlegger

    Bootlegger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Loc:
    Where the Bluegrass meets Hills
    Is it possible to run the intake down the chimney next to the flue ductwork? Intake down the chimney, exhaust up the chimney.
  9. Bootlegger

    Bootlegger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Loc:
    Where the Bluegrass meets Hills
    Kind of what I thought. My stove is in the middle of the first floor, no easy access for an intake.
  10. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    If your not going to use the fireplace I would just seal the top with a piece of sheet metal and silicone. If draft still seems sluggish and you don't have a good option for outside air kit maybe you could install one of these or crack a nearby window.

    http://www.condar.com/asv.html
  11. CTburning

    CTburning New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Loc:
    Western CT
    I never thought about an OAK but I guess I could install one. I have plenty of fresh air coming into the basement. The garage doors lead to my finished basement. The door seperating the garages from the basement is pretty airtight. Next to it though is the boiler room. It is vented into the basement and into the garage. I don't know what you call it but it looks like a blind part way closed. There is one in the door and the wall. Any vacumm will suck air right through the garage. The old stove did start better though if I opened the door and garage door.

    My basement is a good 5 ft underground so to install an OAK I would have to run pipe up alongside the stove pipe and out next to the chimney. It would look hideous to say the least. But it would work I guess. I'm not going there. The Fireview was purchased partly because of the looks. I'll post some pics in a couple weeks when I get my buddies over to help me lift the "little" stove!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page