any advice for a new chainsaw owner?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kamg

Sep 24, 2008
Northwood NH
So I finally manned-up and got a chainsaw (ok, I got it for Xmas, but still...).

I've never used one before. It's a brand-new 14" gas powered Poulan. I've got a few logs to buck up, and plenty of land to go get some firewood out of. My plan is to start small and harvest dead (small) trees and such.

So I'm looking for advice as to how to use the saw. I've read up on the internet a bunch of safety instructions (and the user's guide of course), and how to properly cut... but I was looking for perhaps some first-hand knowledge of what I should be doing to be safe and to get the best results without losing any limbs (my limbs, of course). So does anyone have any good hints or rules I should abide by for best results? And how do I convince the wife that I'll be coming back as a full man by the end of the day? :)

Non-man advise: Get PPE (personal protection equipment) before you start cutting, chaps, boots, and helmet (eyes and ears safety). From there, make sure the chains stay sharp, don't cut into the dirt, don't push hard on the saw to get it to cut, let the chain do the work.
Have fun cutting, I enjoy thats for sure.
Chad

Could not have said it better myself chad3, It is great to get out and cut up some wood I enjoy it too,

Well.. I don't know about chaps, & a helmet. I've been cutting wood for 20 years and never used any of that. However I do use safety goggles, ear plugs, and a good pair of leather gloves.