Any advice for a newbie on a basement stove to keep pipes and the floor above warm?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RKS130

Minister of Fire
Oct 14, 2011
Lower Hudson Valley, NY
I am new to pellets and loving every second of the heat from my stove.

Madame Defarge is a different story. While she loves the heat, and the savings over oil, she constantly worries about the pipes in the basement freezing during a prolonged cold spell and is decidedly not happy with the cold floors on the first floor.

Our basement is unfinished and I (at 6' even) can't stand erect down there. I have been thinking that, perhaps, for next year, it might be a good idea to put a stove in the basement to keep the pipes (and the wife unit) happy, as well as warming up the floor on the main floor. Seems to me, little as I know (but tons more than I would have without you guys!) than a utilitarian stove with a big hopper (or an extension) in the basement, set on low to run 24/7 in the cold months, might alleviate the domestic situation.

Any suggestions on a good stove for that purpose or thoughts on the idea generally? My guess is that keeping the floor warm on the lower level would also generally help keep the house warm.