Any downside to this wire routing idea?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

velvetfoot

Minister of Fire
Dec 5, 2005
Sand Lake, NY
I have a screened in deck that has a water spigot that won't be used any more.
I am thinking of cutting the pipe in the basement and using the 1/2" copper pipe as conduit.
I don't see why it won't work. Waddya think?

Does your house use conduit or romex? If conduit, then make sure that it ties back to existing conduit to be properly grounded. I guess it could work but I'm not an electrician.

Of course, it could be a danger for any future owner - when they cut into the pipe, not expecting it to be electrical.

Double check, but I'm not sure that it would be code compliant, both because it's copper, and because it may have more than the allowed number and sharpness of bends...

OTOH, there wouldn't be anything I know of that would be wrong w/ pulling the pipe out and replacing it w/ standard conduit (or NMT if that's allowed) that followed the same routing, as long as you followed the limits on bends...

Gooserider

It will be fine to use for that purpose. They use metal/galvinized conduit right??. Just label the pipe as to what it contains. Make sure you file and tape the ends of the cut copper as to not cut the wire your pulling through.

woodsman23 said:
It will be fine to use for that purpose. They use metal/galvinized conduit right??. Just label the pipe as to what it contains. Make sure you file and tape the ends of the cut copper as to not cut the wire your pulling through.