Any smoke value in dry rotted wood for a cat stove? Prompted from the "can I burn rotten wood" threa

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodpileOCD

Minister of Fire
Jan 19, 2011
Central NC
I've been meaning to ask this and the rotten wood thread got me thinking again. I'm new to the world of cat stoves but I know that the cats run on smoke. Would dry, structurally ok but dry rotted wood be of any value purely as a smoke generator. I have probably half a cord of willow oak that I cut into rounds a couple of years ago and instead of splitting and stacking them right away, I stacked them in a pile on the ground. The next year, I went to split them and they had fungus rot all the way through them, even to the third tier which was 3 feet off of the ground. Bitterly dissapointed to say the least. Anyone else had this experience with willow oak? I know I would have to mix it with other stuff because by itself, I'm not even sure it would generate enough heat to light off the cat.

Anyway, curious about using it in my cat stove as it's still sitting there and a real eyesore to me everytime I see it.

Why not burn it. It's not going to hurt anything. Stove don't care. Just like a moose don't care whether it's a 308 or a 338. Still kills it. It's wood. Dry it out and burn it. It will make fire.

kgrant said:
Why not burn it. It's not going to hurt anything. Stove don't care. Just like a moose don't care whether it's a 308 or a 338. Still kills it. It's wood. Dry it out and burn it. It will make fire.