1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Any way to remove a Zero Clearance and replace with an Insert?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by rjustice4, Nov 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rjustice4

    rjustice4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Arnold, CA, 4000 ft elevation, Northern Sierra
    BTB, what do you like about the Z42? Why did it make it onto your short list? I'm getting a quote on one, and am wondering what you learned in doing your homework on the Z42...

    Thanks.

    Bob

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. builderbob

    builderbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Loc:
    Oregon
    Large (wide) glass viewing area compared to many other models,
    Allows use of solid-pack chimney,
    It looks nice, and has nice options on doors and "look" accessories,
    Was able to find one at nearby dealer to look at in person (for some reason finding actual
    woodburning fireplace units to touch and feel is hard!!),
    Found good experience comments here at Hearth from a dealer who has installed several,
    Liked the way they do their outside air duct and the fact they use only one 4" duct (I worry about
    cold air infiltration when not in use, as we will use fireplace for supplement only heat on
    occassion--we not burn every day),
    Firebox hearth masonry uses individual bricks (not panels), so easy/cheap to replace them if
    needed,
    Non-catalytic
    Likely to be competitive on pricing compared to some models I had looked at.
  3. rjustice4

    rjustice4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Arnold, CA, 4000 ft elevation, Northern Sierra
    Wow, thanks for the detailed input BTB!

    Sounds like you have a tough choice ahead between the Tradition and the Z42....
  4. builderbob

    builderbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Loc:
    Oregon
    Yes, most of the plusses I listed for Kozyheat z42 are also plusses for the BIS Tradition. So, I am glad I end up with a choice, either of which I can be very happy with.

    And the good part about this is, I get to "let" my wife have a choice!! Her choice!!

    One thing I still need to check out is the warranty on the Kozyheat--couldn't find it on their website or in their posted manual. The dealer may be able to answer my questions on that part.
  5. rjustice4

    rjustice4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Arnold, CA, 4000 ft elevation, Northern Sierra
    BTB, I know I must be driving you crazy...but...is there a reason your not considering the BIS Panorama? It's got low emissions, and has just about the same heat output as the Tradition, with a single door (unobstructed view)...

    Thanks.

    Bob
  6. fishboat

    fishboat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Loc:
    Wisconsin
    BTB & Disco,

    Either of you guys know whether a remote control three-speed + off switch is available that would work with a Bis Tradition blower? I don't really need yet another remote, but installing a remote sensor in the mantle would be an interesting option rather than the rotary dimmer on a wall.

    I had my Bis Tradition CE installed yesterday & they did a nice job...solid-pack chimney & all. Now comes the finish work.
  7. builderbob

    builderbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Loc:
    Oregon
    Dang it justice4, you made me go back to the brochures to see why I hadn't considered the Panorama!

    I went to the Lennox site and looked at the Villa Vista (clone of Panorama). It is a very good looking fireplace! Made me wonder too why did I not put it on the short list. It does have sex appeal.

    I think I remembered actually seeing one in person at a shop, and the actual glass width was somewhere around 26". We were hoping for wider. And this one is a catalytic unit, and somewhere along the line I had made a decision to go non-catalytic if possible (just my preference). So despite the good emissions ratings, and the very good sex appeal, the other two criteria led me to the Bis Tradition or Lennox Montecito Estate.

    If they made a Panorama Plus, just a bit wider glass say 29 or 30", maybe 4.0 cubic instead of 3.6 cubic, even with the catalytic I would likely go for it.
  8. builderbob

    builderbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Loc:
    Oregon
    I have no idea about the remote blower control. Seems like something that ought to be available somewhere. That is an interesting idea.

    Best I can advise is start googling for fireplace parts stores, and/or for blower and controls parts houses. And ask your shop if they know of suppliers for electronics parts that might have something like that.

    I can tell you are getting into the right mental attitude for sitting back in your easy chair with a toasty fire going in your Tradition CE, perhaps a mug of hot eggnog in your hand, and enjoying!
  9. DiscoInferno

    DiscoInferno Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332
    Loc:
    Silver Spring, MD/ Munising, MI
    There are remote units for ceiling fans that do a 3-speed control, but I do recall that a rotary ceiling-fan control I bought to test would not power the blower. The packaging didn't show what the internal circuit was, so I don't know what the problem was. Other than that, I haven't seen anything like that but it probably exists (for a price).
  10. fishboat

    fishboat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Loc:
    Wisconsin
    Any speed control will have a wattage/power rating that it can handle. Maybe your blower pulled more than a typical ceiling fan.

    The remote came to mind as I was considering ways to install the stock speed control into the mantle. Naturally a remote control receiving sensor can be quite a bit smaller than the stock speed control. If I could find something like this I'd have to be sure it was accessible to replace if needed.

    My frame of mind is pumped for a fire..I have my slippers, robe, sock-pants, & eggnog cup all picked out, but I need to build a legal hearth & get some durock around the burner face before I can start breaking it in. :-(
  11. DiscoInferno

    DiscoInferno Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332
    Loc:
    Silver Spring, MD/ Munising, MI
    My blowers all pull less than an Amp, so I don't think that was the issue. Different types of motors need different controls, depends on the impedance. The blower control I have can't be used on motors with a start capacitor, for example. Still, I would have thought that fan motors and blower motors were similar. I never even tested if the control worked on anything else, so it might just have been bad. Or maybe it blew out right away, it's been a while...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page