Anybody Get Whole Logs Delivered?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

velvetfoot

Minister of Fire
Dec 5, 2005
Sand Lake, NY
I was thinking of trying this next year. Not sure if people do this around where I live but I've lived in another place where they do.
Can it be a money-saving proposition?

YEs saves money, Problem is to find a trustworthy guy with good logs. Ask around. Check the wood trucks as they drive by and get the number and call.

I heard in my area (central NY) full truckload is about 7.5 cord and costs around 400-500 dollars.

Thanks

Carpniels

I'm new to this web site, but for the past 10 years I have paid for a tri-axle of pole wood every year. A truck load used to cost me about $400, but over the years and the higher cost for diesel my last load costed me $500. I would then cut, split, haul, and stack the wood for the winter. It was a chore I never looked forward to, but it was cheaper heating the house with wood than electric or gas. After 2 years of hand splitting, I purchased a wood splitter. Again you do save money, but it will be tiring work. Some people enjoy it because it gets you outside. I just got tired of cutting, sharepning the saw chain, splitting, hauling, stacking. My wife like it when we get a load of pole wood, because she enjoys putting all the bark that falls off into our chipper to make bark chips. I just posted an entry here that I'm moving to a home with a fire place and instead of a wood stove insert, I'm looking into a coal stove insert. Make sure if you do get a load of pole wood that you have a fairly decent chainsaw to do t