Anyone Burn Tamarack for Firewood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smed

Sep 18, 2011
Ontario Canada
I have plenty of Tamarack around the property, but have always thought that it was poor for burning because it has so much sap in it. Does it cause problems with the chimney? I have read that it is fair quality for burn efficiency. I know it is a bit hard on the chainsaw blades and hard to split.

Any help would be appreciated! :)

I'm no expert but a good friend of mine grew up in NE Washington and said they used it all the time. I do not know why it would not be good if harvested and properly seasoned long enough before use.

Yes, it's pretty popular in Eastern WA. They consider it a nice hardwood.

I burned a cord and a half two seasons ago and loved it. About as good as ash and dries 2X as fast as oak. Wish I had all I could get,,,,,,,,Mike

Tamarack or Western Larch is a highly desirable firewood east of the Cascades. It rates next to Douglas Fir as it is straight grained, few knots, easy to split and give good heat. Around here it goes for $175/cord where grand fir/pine goes $140-150/cord.

Smed, cut it and burn it. No worries about chimney problems so long as you let the wood dry before burning it. Same thing goes for pine; it will burn fine so long as you give it time to dry. A year should do the trick.

smed said: