Anyone ever heard of a stack pipe running through a fireplace flu?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

paristxgrl

Feb 6, 2010
Lansdowne, PA
Hi all,

I'm new to hearth.com - fantastic site with a lot of great info! I'm thinking of getting a woodstove while Uncle Sam is offering the credit. Here's what I have/what I'm looking for:

1) house is uninsulated, 85 yrs. old, 3 story twin, has exterior masonry chimney, clay liner (8" x 12") and brick fireplace. (yes, house is very drafty, but I'm replacing windows as I can, and hope to someday insulate as much as possible - I still have knob/tube wiring, so updating is costly/taking a while)
2) I'd only be using stove on weekends as I'm not home much during the week, and I'm looking to heat only the 1st and 2nd floors. Stairs to 2nd floor run up right next to fireplace so heat up to 2nd floor should not be a problem.
3) I honestly don't need to get up to 75 F - I'm just looking to take the chill off - 55-60 would be balmy to me (t-stat is set on 45, yes, toes get cold! - and yes, I read the article of the couple up in ME that weren't heating their house! But look, they bought a woodstove, and there's a reason I'm looking to buy one too! :)

Here are my issues: